Anatomy and Physiology

Female Reproductive Organs


Female reproductive organs are concerned with sexual intercourse, fertilization, growth, and development of the fetus and the lactation after childbirth. The organs are divided into 3 parts- external genitalia, internal genitalia, and the mammary glands.

External genitalia (Vulva/ Pudendum)– It consists of all external parts which include mons pubis (subcutaneous fat pad ), labia majora ( skin and subcutaneous tissue), labia minora ( 2 thin skin folds ), the clitoris (cylindrical erectile tissue) and the vestibule (triangular space bounded by labia minora).

Internal genitalia– This consists of the organs placed internally, which are the vagina (fibromuscular tube), uterus, Fallopian tube, and ovaries.

Mammary Glands– These are modified sebaceous gland which is bilateral and concerned with lactation soon after the delivery.


Download the App: Android App

For more Lectures, please visit-

YouTube Channel NursingLecture

FacebookFacebook Page

Check out the 3D animated video of the Female Reproductive Organs here:

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2019 Nursinglecture.

To Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap