Anatomy and Physiology

Mammary Glands (Breast)


These are hemispherical accessory glands of the female reproductive system, which are concerned with lactation after childbirth.

  • Deep fascia attaches it to the pectoralis major and serratus anterior muscle with the subcutaneous tissues and is weighing about 200-300gm during reproductive age.
  • Each breast has pigmented muscular projection covered by the skin is the nipple and it has openings of 15-20 lactiferous ducts.
  • The pigmented surrounding area of the nipple in each breast is called areola which accommodates modified sebaceous glands(oil).
  • Suspensory ligament (Cooper’s ligament) extends from skin to deep fascia which supports the breast.

  • Within each breast is a mammary gland that produces milk, it consists of 15-20 lobes which are separated by adipose tissues with smaller compartments known as lobules, which is composed of grape-like clusters of milk-secreting glands termed as alveoli.
  • A branching longitudinal cell, the myoepithelial cell surrounds the alveoli which secrete and propels milk toward the nipple, contraction of these cells squeezes the alveoli these are lined by columnar cells.
  • When milk is produced it passes from alveoli to secondary tubules and then to the mammary duct.
  • Near the nipple mammary duct dilated to form ampulla or lactiferous sinus where milk is stored then drained into lactiferous ducts to the exterior, where the baby can feed.
  • Blood supply to these glands is by the axillary artery, internal mammary, and intercostal arteries and venous drainage by the same corresponding veins.

Download the App: Android App

For more Lectures, please visit-

YouTube Channel NursingLecture

FacebookFacebook Page

Check out the 3D animated video of the Mammary Glands here:

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2019 Nursinglecture.

To Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap